Playlist

Today was a beautiful day to trust, a beautiful day to start my 100 miles — again.

I made a Walking playlist for my iPod.  The first song , quite appropriately, is Willie Nelson’s On the Road Again.  There I was, sunning beating on my face, a breeze blowing through my hair, walking down the street, grinning from ear to ear, realizing how happy I was to be back on the road walking again.

Patsy Cline’s Walking After Midnight came next.  Velvety voice crooning me down the block.

“Are ya ready boots?  Well, start walkin’.”  I started feeling fatigued, but These Boots Were Made For Walking had the best beat of all.  I felt like I was gliding down the sidewalk.

“I want to give love, I want to share, I want to show you just how much I care.”  Seeing that in print looks a little schmaltzy, but when Toni Childs belts it out in I Want to Walk With You, it feels anything but.  It was about this time that I was dedicating my walk to all the people in developing countries who cannot walk.

“In this world we’ve a soul for a compass and a heart for a pair of wings….. why walk when you can fly?”  Yea, well, I would have loved to been flying right about then. I was at the end of my mile and feeling it.  But the music transcended me beyond my physical discomfort reminding me that what I am doing, my 100 mile walk, is about following my soul’s compass and doing what I need to do for those who can’t do it for themselves.

How can you walk with me?  I have a Donate Here button on the left.  If you’re so inclined, no amount is too small.  And I also need help spreading the word.  If you’re comfortable sharing this blog, my story with other people, that will help immensely.

One down….. Ninety Nine to go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment