Self-Definition

I do no define myself by the wrinkles making a road-map of my face,                                                                                                                                                       I am side-splitting laughter; I am anguish and pain; I am joy unfettered.

I do not define myself by my jiggly butt or round tummy,                                                           I am nourished and grateful for my food; I am thrilled with my sweets; I am intoxicated with culinary delights.  I nourish myself not just through good food, but by the appreciation of it.

I do not define myself by my gray hair,                                                                                          I am a compilation of every reason my hair has turned gray.

I do not define myself by my swollen, achy foot,                                                                           I am sure footed, confident of where I plant each step.

I do not define myself by my nearsighted eyes that can’t see passed the rainy windshield,                                                                                                                                            I have vision grander than my eyes will ever see. I see the whole picture, the aerial view.

I do not define myself by the bursitis plaguing my hip or the tendonitis in my butt,               I am walking into my future with a steady gait and sure direction.

I do not define myself by my abbreviated body,                                                                           I am a whole woman who realizes that, though parts of my body can be cut off, no doctor in the world can cut me off from my soul.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

