Staring Back

Today is the day.

The sun is shining and spreading warmth – the kind of warmth that makes me want to shed my pants and don my shorts.  But before I do that I need to take a deep breath and make a mental shift.  I need to steel myself in preparation for all the stares.

I used to have a leg that was sculpted and painted to look as much like my long leg as possible.  About three years ago I made the shift to a C-leg, a very mechanical, robot-looking leg.  Instead of a Caucasian colored calf, I have a grey tube, complete with the C-leg logo.  I’ve always disliked clothing that advertises a brand and here I am walking around with a brand on my body.

I used to be able to pretend that my sculpted, painted leg made me look normal.  In fact when my prosthetist urged me to switch to the C-leg, I was worried about how that would change my husband’s desire for me.  I didn’t know how much my sculpted leg had fooled him, too.  I’ll never forget his answer when I asked him, “Would it make a difference to you if I had a robot looking leg?”

“Honey, I want you comfortable and happy,” he said.  “That’s the difference I care about.”

So I made the change and I love the way walking feels in the C-leg.  But I still have to get used to being so obvious.  Mind you, I’ve always stuck out, even with my sculpted leg, but with that leg, people usually had to take a double-take to realize what they were looking at.  With my grey C-leg, there’s no question what you’re looking at: a piece of hardware made to help me walk.

The feelings that arise when I’m stared at are a jumbled mess of discomfort, vanity, self-consciousness, pride, and, sometimes, anger.  I like attention as much as the next person, but I prefer it for something I did well or for looking good.  What makes me uncomfortable, even thirty four years later, is that I’m being stared at because of my deficit, because of my difference.  I understand that people are curious; I just don’t like being a curiosity.  And I don’t want to compartmentalize myself by saying they’re just curious about my prosthetic leg.  My prosthetic leg is not separate from my body; it is a part of my body.  So when people stare at my prosthetic leg, they are staring at me.

I used to stare back at people, well, glare actually, to let them know how rude they were being.  I threw my discomfort right back in their faces and tried to make them as uncomfortable as they were making me.  A number of years ago I stopped doing that. I realized that didn’t help the situation.  Now I just let people look or stare.  And deep inside, I remind myself:  it’s my difference that has shaped me, sculpted me into the woman I am today.  When they look at my prosthetic leg, they are looking at courage.  And when I look back at them, they are staring straight into the eyes of acceptance.

Okay, so here goes….. I’m digging out the shorts.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment