Life in the Labyrinth

the labyrinth - a work in progress

I took a walk in my labyrinth tonight. I wove myself through the circle as if through the weft and warp of a circular area rug. When I started the walk, I took a good look at the structure to evaluate and see what needs to be finished. First I examined the bricks lining the grass pathways. I grumbled as I noticed they lay uneven. I walked over weeds and reminded myself to yank them out tomorrow. I walked over bare patches in the grass where I pulled weeds a few weeks ago, proud that I had rid my peaceful spot of such ugliness. And I was irritated the 35 foot circular area wasn’t even. The slight ups and downs make walking harder for me.

And then I realized that my life is a lot like this labyrinth.

The structure of my life lays a little catawampus sometimes, just like those bricks. I could certainly use some straightening out. As I walked around the labyrinth I could truly see the beauty in this organic-looking placement. I could have paid someone to install the labyrinth, but we did it our way. Isn’t that how I live my life, even if it turns out imperfect and a little messy?

I reminded myself that the very weeds I want to pull are also plants that have something to give. The Dandelion and the Plantain both have medicinal properties that aid the human body. I thought about the experiences or parts of myself that I want to yank out of my life. I know they have something useful for me. It’s all about whether I want to take the time, to shift my perspective so as to discover what that is.

And those ups and downs I had to walk over? Well, unless I walk a perfectly manicured labyrinth somewhere else, I’ll just have to get used to the ups and downs of life in my own labyrinth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

